Michael Morrill

Divided Square Series: 1988-1989

Following Janus 38, the Divided Square paintings begin with number 39.  Signaling monochrome painting through veils of transparent paint films, the subtle linear divisions of the square give way to shaped canvases starting with number 51.  The Divided Square series ends at no. 59 and Trilogy of Squares.